Author Topic: 2021 Farm Log  (Read 32574 times)

lighter

Re: 2021 Farm Log
« Reply #195 on: May 17, 2021, 01:15:11 PM »
Pooch!  You figured it out, Hops!  Well done.
Send more pics!

Amber, what fish are you planning to stock?

Lighter

sKePTiKal

« Reply #196 on: May 17, 2021, 02:25:58 PM »
Well I know I need a couple catfish. With the birds having free access to the pond, I have an algae problem. (Or did last year; it was dry so not a lot of circulation/fresh water added.) Then probably perch, bass & minnows to feed the bigger fish. The turnover of water isn't enough for trout.

There's a whole ecological science to maintaining healthy ponds. And I'm a beginner. So I'll probably pick brains at the fish farm.
Success is never final, failure is never fatal.

sKePTiKal

« Reply #197 on: May 21, 2021, 11:22:41 AM »
'morning. Hol is in anxious/excited prepatory trajectory for going away to work for about a month. Steve will hold down the Hut; and I will be able to feel a little more solitude... which I need... as Buck is working on the final countdown to moving here.

Heatwave means I'm not doing much planting right now. I will probably get the kitchen bed sown, today, when the sun comes around. And think about where I'm going to put medicinal herbs... and ordering some more seed. I can't plant jewelweed until fall. Might wash vehicles: the ranger looks like it was rode hard & put up wet -- as it really has for some time. B needs to give it an oil change & a good going over.